Keeping in touch with God

Standard

I listened to a message by Damon Thompson which was titled The Grace to Live Simply and he read from the letters of a man called Frank Charles Laubach (September 2, 1884 – June 11, 1970), who was an Evangelical Christian missionary known as “The Apostle to the Illiterates.”
I posted some of what Damon read here, because it challenged me to evaluate what I think on and where my focus is.

This pursuit of God began in January of 1930 and landed Frank here…

May 14, 1930
It is working Oh, this thing of keeping in constant touch with God, of making him the object of my thought and the companion of my conversations, is the most amazing thing I ever ran across. It is working. I cannot do it even half of a day–not yet, but I believe I shall be doing it some day for the entire day. It is a matter of acquiring a new habit of thought.

May 24, 1930
This concentration upon God is strenuous, but everything else has ceased to be so. I think more clearly, I forget less frequently. Things which I did with a strain before, I now do easily and with no effort whatever. I worry about nothing, and lose no sleep. I walk on air a good part of the time. Even the mirror reveals a new light in my eyes and face. I no longer feel in a hurry about anything. Everything goes right. Each minute I meet calmly as though it were not important. Nothing can go wrong excepting one thing. That is that God may slip from my mind if I do not keep on my guard.

This certainly makes me think about my life and what my mind is fixed on.
During Damon Thompson’s message he asks: “Is this not the Gospel???” And I want to say YES! Yes, this is certainly the Gospel!

Isaiah 26:3
Amplified Bible (AMP)
“You will guard him and keep him in perfect and constant peace whose mind [both its inclination and its character] is stayed on You, because he commits himself to You, leans on You, and hopes confidently in You.”

To read through his entire journey, go to: http://www.durrance.com/laubach.htm

2 thoughts on “Keeping in touch with God

Leave a Reply

